

NATIONAL FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE ®

328 MASSACHUSETTS AVE., N.E. WASHINGTON, DC 20002

JIM PASCO EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

28 January 2025

The Honorable Amy J. Klobuchar United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Kevin J. Cramer United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senators Klobuchar and Cramer,

I am writing on behalf of the members of the Fraternal Order of Police to advise you of our strong support for S. 237, the "Honoring Our Fallen Heroes Act."

Our law enforcement officers are in harm's way each and every day. They are exposed not only to physical threats, but also to unseen or unknown threats while operating in potentially hazardous environments. Public safety officers who are exposed to known carcinogens and who are subsequently diagnosed with cancer should be considered to have sustained a personal injury in the line of duty for the purposes of the Public Safety Officers' Benefits (PSOB) program if the cancer causes their death or disability.

According to research published in 2011 by the State University of Buffalo and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, law enforcement officers have higher rates of brain cancer and Hodgkin's lymphoma than the general population. The report highlighted a number of additional studies that show an elevated mortality risk among officers due to various cancers.

Your legislation addresses this stark reality and would correctly categorize duty-related cancer fatalities as a line of duty death under the PSOB program. This bill acknowledges their sacrifice in service to their communities and ensures that the families of fallen officers receive the benefits to which they are entitled.

On behalf of the more than 377,000 members of the Fraternal Order of Police, I thank you both for your steadfast support and leadership on this critical issue. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me or Executive Director Jim Pasco in our Washington, D.C. office.

Sincerely.

Patrick Yoes National President

cc: David Miller, President, Minnesota State Lodge Ruben Marichalar, National Trustee, Minnesota State Lodge Mitch Wardzinski, President, North Dakota State Lodge Joe Johnson, National Trustee, North Dakota State Lodge